FAQFAQ   GalleryGallery   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Forum RSS Feed   Hacked Gadgets Main Site 

HELP!! recharging batteries in portable LED gift
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
azntwboy
Semi Newbie

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: HELP!! recharging batteries in portable LED gift Reply with quote

hi, i want to make an acrylic flower that glows.
my original plan was to just have a wall adapter to power the LEDs, but now i think it would be cool if i can use rechargable batteries, so when the flower is unplugged, it will still light up for a short time.

i see a lot of charger controllers for batteries, but they're too complex for me to understand and i dont know anything about charging batteries. im only an architecture student. im afraid to use them because i dont know what to connect the pins to or how it works.
i also dont have much space to put the components in, so a simple circuit would be better.

i was wondering will it work if i use a 6v wall adapter to directly charge a depleted 7.2v battery? suppose the batteries are drained to 2v. will the 6v adapter bring the batteries up to 6v? or will it not work at all? will the charging stop automatically or keep going and overcharge the batteries?

________
RD250

Last edited by azntwboy on Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:10 pm; edited 1 time in total

Nginuity
HG Ruler

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would recommend you add some kind of charge regulator in between the charging resistor, and the batteries to prevent overcharge. It's good that you are slowing the charge, but it could still overcharge if the unit isnt on. A comparator circuit might be the easist way to do this.