FAQFAQ   GalleryGallery   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Forum RSS Feed   Hacked Gadgets Main Site 

My planned rig

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hacked Gadgets Forum Index -> Other
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Project_Nightmare
HG Master


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Gig Harbor, WA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:56 pm    Post subject: My planned rig Reply with quote

My current rig parts that I'm going to reuse:
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200KS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 16X DVD±R DVD Burner With 5X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE Model SH-S162A/BEBN
ENERMAX Liberty ELT620AWT ATX12V 620W Power Supply
MITSUMI Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive
4 GB of Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) (2 kits of BL2KIT12864AL804)
EVGA nForce 780i SLI ATX Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz
An old GeForce 6800 XT 128 MB (which I'm planning to replace)

Planned parts to buy:
3 x 9800 GTX (each bought over an extended period of time if one isn't satisfactory)
Bigfoot Networks Killer
LG L206WTY-BF Black 20" 2ms Widescreen LCD Monitor
Antec Nine Hundred


Parts that I'm still deciding on getting or doing:
SILVERSTONE ST1200 ATX12V / EPS12V 1200W Power Supply (if I'm going to 3-way sli it)
PhysX Processing Unit
M-AUDIO Revolution 5.1 Sound Card
Custom bought watercooling parts

This is going to take awhile to gather all the money Crying or Very sad

You digg it???


Last edited by Project_Nightmare on Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:38 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Alan
Site Admin


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 1399
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice. Smile That is one big power supply? Would it need it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Project_Nightmare
HG Master


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Gig Harbor, WA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alan wrote:
Nice. Smile That is one big power supply? Would it need it?
If I'm going to 3-way sli it, since one review stated that their system reached 800 watt Shocked


And I got the parts that where being shipped, it all works (compaired to my last system that had a bad motherboard and took me 2 years to find why it was crashing so much). The quad core seems a little slow at times, but I'm sure that it is because of loading single core programs.

Additionally, I'm running Windows XP Media Center Edition and I'm going to be one of those people that is going to avoid Vista until Windows 7 comes out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alan
Site Admin


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 1399
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Vista on one of my new machines... Not to pleased with it. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Turd
HG Ruler


Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 274
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alan wrote:
I have Vista on one of my new machines... Not to pleased with it. Sad
Try a Linux distro. with Compiz Very Happy


eric
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Project_Nightmare
HG Master


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Gig Harbor, WA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just updated my bios so it is no longer underclocked and now runs at manufacturer ratings.


Strange, Quake 4 is refusing to start on my computer, but Doom 3 runs fine except when I try to run the soundsound and then it crashes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Project_Nightmare
HG Master


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Gig Harbor, WA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm impressed what this computer has shown me. It seems to hover around 30% cpu (it a quad core) and 25% ram (out of 4 gigs) usage when I'm running intensive programs on it. The crysis demo runs into problems when I jack up the settings, but that's due to the outdated video card in my computer.

Do you think I went a little overboard on the cpu and ram???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Alan
Site Admin


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 1399
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Extra computing power and RAM is always nice to have. Smile I have a feeling that you will be just tickling the potential of the machine most of the time but the extra horse power is nice when needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hacked Gadgets Forum Index -> Other All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group