FAQFAQ   GalleryGallery   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Forum RSS Feed   Hacked Gadgets Main Site 

Hack of LED Clock

View previous topic :: View next topic  
CDBEAM

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:01 am    Post subject: Hack of LED Clock Reply with quote

Hello ALL,

New to this forum, Thankful for it being here !! Anyway... I want to hack an LED clock. I have some electronic experience.... not alot...just a hobbyist !!
Here is what I want to do....take a six (6) digit led clock...which has output in Hours:Minutes:Seconds ( They are out there !!)...and pick up a control signal off the display...to turn on a 5VDC device....every hour...on the hour...for one (1) minute.....AND to turn on that same 5VDC device
every 60 seconds...for one (1) second...at 00 seconds.
Multiplexing has me stumped in this case...any thoughts on how to do this ???????????????????? Thanx in advance...

Bob

Alan
Site Admin

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you need the clock display or just the timed output? If you need the clock to function you can see if there are one second pulses that you can capture and feed into a controller. This controller would simply count second pulses and activate when the correct count is reached.

If no display is needed then you could simply use a microcontroller and real time clock or just a accurate oscillator.
Turd
HG Ruler

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A crappy way to detect the digits would be to glue some photo-resistors to the face of the clock Laughing

eric
CDBEAM

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 2:29 pm    Post subject: Hack of LED Clock Reply with quote

Hello,