FAQFAQ   GalleryGallery   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Forum RSS Feed   Hacked Gadgets Main Site 

Turn Signel Voltage
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hacked Gadgets Forum Index -> Electronic Help
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:30 am    Post subject: Turn Signel Voltage Reply with quote

You know how either a car, or any vech. has a turn signel turn on, the voltage is not constant, but more, on off on off when the signel is pressed? how , or what can i build to always make it constant!?

thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The turn signals in vehicles use a relay to drive the signal on and off. If you bypass the relay it is using, it should stay constant.
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so if i find the relay. and take off the relay, and just put the 2 wires together, will it burn out or something!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

chelapa wrote:
so if i find the relay. and take off the relay, and just put the 2 wires together, will it burn out or something!?


Well, the control wires might get a little hot, now that I think of it. What a relay does is allows a low current signal trigger a switch for a large current signal. The turn signal relay just has a timed on and off relay (usually). You may want to just replace that relay with a general purpose relay. Any auto parts store should have one of these. What kind of car is it? Some cars have gone to solid state electronics to do the on off switching, and then there is a general purpose relay already. If this is the case, then you will just have to bypass the switch circuitry by jumping a wire over it. I would suggest looking at a wiring diagram first to find out which you have. A lot of them are available online.
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well im doing a LED Chaser, and the On state will power the unit. and then the leds go from side to side. BUT if the power is on off and on off, it wont work =(.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I would just find out if it is a relay switch driven, or solid state switch driven. If you tell us the model of car, someone might be able to come across a wiring diagram for it and help you more.
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ill find out. if it was solid state, i could just jump it with the wire? then that will always supply a constant amount of voltage to the turn sig. right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

man, i also found out its 12 volts =\. what can i make to turn that to .. 6-9 volts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chelapa wrote:
ill find out. if it was solid state, i could just jump it with the wire? then that will always supply a constant amount of voltage to the turn sig. right?


Yes, or remove it all together and connect the two remaining wires together.

Quote:
man, i also found out its 12 volts =\. what can i make to turn that to .. 6-9 volts?


You can use a small transformer, or perhaps much smaller voltage regulator, maybe a zener diode. The options are many. What are you regulating the voltage to? The LED's?
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes LEDS, its going into a board.. so i dont want to burn it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chelapa wrote:
Yes LEDS, its going into a board.. so i dont want to burn it.


You can just use a limiting resistor to accomplish the task.
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you send me a quick link to one?

just change the resistors that are going into the LEDs.? what about the power going into the amtel chip? dont wanna burn that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nginuity
HG Ruler


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Location: Dallas, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chelapa wrote:
Can you send me a quick link to one?

just change the resistors that are going into the LEDs.? what about the power going into the amtel chip? dont wanna burn that.


Oh your powering that off of the link too....you dont want to change the resistor to ther led then....if it calls for a 6-9 volt sou8rce, use a voltage regulator.
_________________
_ _ . . . . . . _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chelapa
HG Junior


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whats a good voltage regulator that will go from 12v -> i would say, 5-8, maybe 9 volts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Hacked Gadgets Forum Index -> Electronic Help All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group