FAQFAQ   GalleryGallery   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in   Forum RSS Feed   Hacked Gadgets Main Site 

Damsel in distress

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lochnessie233
Semi Newbie

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:24 am    Post subject: Damsel in distress Reply with quote

Hello one and all!

I am a product design student at university and our latest project requires us to make a working prototype of a battery-powered light. I have chosen to use LEDs but am not sure where to buy them, if i need a kit, if i will have to wire it all myself, or how to work it.

I have never worked with electronics before so the most straightforward option would be great. I simply want a small (has to be under 70mm by 70mm wide and less than 20mm tall) white or cream coloured LED light that attaches to a battery pack. Ideally the device will turn on and off by pressing against the material (a soft rubber) at one spot with a clicking button. What kind of batteries should I use? Do you know of any kits that I can buy to ease my troubles? Any and all advice is appreciated! Thanks so much!

Vanessa

BronzeG3
HG Master

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get LED's here.

What kind of battery pack are you using? You will need a resistor to limit current, and that depends on the voltage being supplied by the batteries.
lochnessie233
Semi Newbie

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

It is a relatively small bedside lamp/nightlight so I want it to have a nice glow. I am open minded about what kind of batteries I use. What do you suggest? How high of a current will I need for such a small light?
Nginuity
HG Ruler

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lochnessie233 wrote:
Hey,